11. On NOT being a domestic goddess (sorry Nigella!), making cunning plans and worrying generally!

Hello again. Twice in the same week! Poor you! Having a catch-up day…. you know the sort of day I mean where there are many things outstanding and you don’t know where to begin … one of those! Before I go any further I have a confession to make! Here goes … I am totally, completely and utterly useless at all things domestic (except for cooking!). I’ve been living in an adapted house for 3 months now and there are still boxes lying around from when we moved in. This is more than a little bit rubbish. What’s worse is that we have started to hoover around those boxes! That’s not good. Anyway, this weekend has been relegated to being “the one where we sort out our clobber, tidy up and generally get a grip of our undergarments” ! Let’s see what happens!?

The second GP turned out to be a lot better than the first contender … she was rather brusque but we muddled through the list I brought in at a fair old rate with not even a raising of an eyebrow (hers or mine!?). I think this might mean more medical appointments in future …. but this would be a good thing if health and movement and outlook improves. I even plucked up the courage to ask about a powered wheelchair. The main problem is that I can’t even wheel to the bus stop so actually getting out of the house currently involves my bothering other people. Getting out of the house and going anywhere is a bit of a military campaign …. only able to go to places with parking nearby etc. but I suppose any of my friends with squiggles must have the same difficulties with prams and getting about? I’m hatching a cunning plan to try driving lessons again towards the end of April. I’m eligible for Motability …. yet another wait and see! I’ve never taken to driving even before the Elvis legs but the thought of even a little more independence is more than a little appealing. Hedgepigs beware!

I was catching up with some TV on the iplayer earlier today (I know! I should have been trying out the domestic goddess hat?!) and came upon the recent documentary showing how poverty is affecting kids in America. It was narrated through the eyes of the children themselves and it made for bleak viewing. Did anyone else watch it? It made me think about the current situation for children in Scotland living with poverty. Then I thought about how little I know about the social situation in the UK and even more that I’m not really clued up regarding basic politics nationally and within the wider world. I have a rough idea I suppose. I just wonder (a lot!!) if I should be getting more involved? I’m not even sure what I could do? So I put it out there …. what do you do?

On a somewhat lighter note I had a tweet from former Eastender Hev! Tee hee! x

About Ultraviolet101

Musician, composer, music therapist, writer and all round nutty person. I get about in a wheelchair (or wheelie which is a much more friendly term!).
This entry was posted in Disability, Health, Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

