20. Pondering life and happenings …

Oh my giddy aunt I seem to have been a completely rubbish blogger again! No excuses, just a bit of a health blip followed by lots and lots of happenings. Best just to get stuck right in!

Won’t bore you with details of health gubbins. Much more interesting is the Edinburgh International Film Festival (#Edfilmfest) Composer Lab I attended last week with 7 other (frankly rather marvellous) unique composing persons. The “Lab” (seems to be a term often used for gatherings of this nature) involved a whole week of industry events, talks and film screenings. A wide range of industry persons involved in different aspects of writing film music pondered the art of composing music from varying perspectives. Advice ranged from wise, jaded to Hollywood via cynical but all words imparted were real and this was valued more than a fairy tale imagining of how a career in this industry might be carved. I loved the advice and hearing about how each successful film music professional had each created their individual path into this fascinating field. I also adored meeting the other 7 lab participants who each write music in a genuine and personal way. And best of all is news that we get to do it all again in October but this time in Ghent ….. tee hee!

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately. Quite a usual occupation for me. I like to think over things that have happened and things that are coming up and make sense of it all in relation to the present. A kind of mindfulness of your own life journey if you like. Since becoming disabled (physically impaired … differently-abled and whatnot) it’s probably quite common to ponder life a bit more !? And so comes another transition I reckon. One where I start to believe I can do things and be useful, wheelchair or not …

About Ultraviolet101

Musician, composer, music therapist, writer and all round nutty person. I get about in a wheelchair (or wheelie which is a much more friendly term!).
This entry was posted in Disability, Health, Life as I know it!, Music, Musician, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

